The MDCB is composed of representatives from several related radiation oncology fields and one public member. Each of the various disciplines represented by the board members is an important component in the development of the certification exam. The board's directors are responsible for determining and administering the policies and procedures of the MDCB.

Board members represent the following supporting organizations:

  • AAMD – 1 CMD Member
  • AAPM – 2 Physicist Members
  • ACR – 1 Physician Member
  • ASTRO – 1 Physician Member


  • At-large – 5-8 CMD Members
  • Public member – 1 individual from the community at-large as per NCCA accreditation requirements.

CMD and medical physicist board members serve 5-year terms. Radiation oncologists serve 3-year terms and can renew for a total of 5 years. The public member term is renewable annually by vote of the board of director.

The officers of the Board are President, Past President, President Elect, Treasurer and Secretary. Officers are elected by the Board.